Reflected Pensiveness

beneath the leaky pipe of thought.

FUDCon at t=(7.77e8 ms)

with 5 comments

I arrived at FUDCon Toronto approximate 7.77 x 108 milliseconds ago (as of the starting time of this post’s composition), and I felt like that’s about long enough to wait before doing a final recap.

This past FUDCon was my first, and I’m really glad I ended up going. To be honest, I didn’t think it would even be possible for me to go, so I brushed it off – until someone suggested that I apply for financial aid. I can’t thank those people enough who determined that I was “worthy” to be sent to the conference. I wish I’d gotten my user track class aligned earlier, but I feel I did my part between helping out with some of them and transcribing three other sessions.

Turns out that this was the first time I’d left the country alone (I have been to England a few times, but always with my family), so that was an exciting personal achievement. But as for the conference, I have to take a little bit of pride in finishing my first package: Xinha, a JS module that turns <textarea>’s into rich text formatting areas; try it out on Fedora Insight when that site goes live! (Or try it at the project website: www.xinha.org.) It might have taken me a while to get there with this package, but now that I know how to do it I plan on taking on a few more packages over winter break.

Another big plus for FUDCon was being able to assign names to IRC nicks and faces to names (and faces to IRC nicks, by transitivity). Among those I feel like I made some connection with (in the style of a Perl hash):

# Nicks to names: ntonm

%ntonm = (

mchua => ‘Mel Chua’, # “We need Dennis to press the shiny button!”

biertie => ‘Bert Desmet’, # “Beer for breakfast…”

none_that_I_know_of => ‘Matthew from Toronto; Last name forgotten…’, # Pool game improves with glasses.

simon => ‘Simon Birtwistle, whose nick I can never remember’, # Runs Windows, but uses PuTTY, which is cool with me

# Et cetera… I can’t name them all here.

};

Something like that.

Anyway, this is my second blog post tonight (EST) and I’ll probably write one more (but I’ll schedule it to release later). Have a pleasant day or night (depending on where you are). Also note that I have three other FUDCon related posts:

  1. Saturday morning
  2. Saturday afternoon
  3. Day 1 = Saturday recap

Now that I see that list, I realize that I never blogged anything from Sunday… but that’s okay. I was hackfesting for most of the conference day. Toshio helped me push my Xinha package into Pending (and eventually Testing) for RHEL-5 and Fedora-1{0,1}. I also looked on as the other Zikula hackers worked on content and logical layout. That night? Ice skating and the “Et cetera”, a sampling of four different house brews from the Three Brewers in Toronto.

Written by Matthew Daniels

December 14, 2009 at 5:53 am

Posted in Personal, Reviews, Technology

Tagged with , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m really glad you had a good time at FUDcon!

    I couldn’t help but notice your mentioning you have interest in doing more packaging :) :) :) In case you are looking for things to package :) you know fonts are very easy to maintain, they tend to change very little, and there’s tons to package that are well-documented :) :)

    http://mairin.wordpress.com/category/unpackaged-font-of-the-week/

    Just some food for thought :) Ciao!

    mairin

    December 14, 2009 at 6:25 am

  2. Simon == itbegins.

    Also, your mad editing/writing skillz rock my world. I need to run the Fedora Insight “About” section by you again once infra stuff is moving more.

    Mel Chua

    December 16, 2009 at 9:00 am

  3. Mairin: Good idea, I’ll keep an eye out on your blog for that.

    Mel: I appreciate your confidence. :)
    But yes; push a block of prose my way anytime and I’ll be happy to edit it.

    Matthew Daniels

    December 16, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  4. thank you!
    this is really the quote I wanted you to remember off all the things I said to you :P

    biertie

    December 23, 2009 at 7:38 pm

  5. lol! I’m sorry, Bert. I remember a lot of things you said to me, but that one was classic. I’ll try to remember something else to put up next time I blog about you. :)

    -mwd

    Matthew Daniels

    December 23, 2009 at 7:48 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

